Is quinoa acceptable for Passover dining? Not everyone agrees.
The Orthodox Union doesn’t give it a green light but suggests that “individuals ask their own rabbi for guidance on home use.”
And while the Chicago Rabbinical Council permits the grain, it recommends that it be purchased from a company that packs only quinoa, such as the Ancient Harvest brand and the Trader Joe’s brand with the half moon K.
The Star-K determined a few years ago that quinoa is kosher for the holiday, as it is not related to the forbidden five grains or to millet or rice. The kosher authority also tested quinoa to see if it would rise. It did not. Like the CRC, Star-K suggests purchasing quinoa from manufacturers that do not also process chametz.
The Jewish Week feels comments create a valuable conversation and wants to feature your thoughts on our website. To make everyone feel welcome, we won't publish comments that are profane, irrelevant, promotional or make personal attacks.