Wear A Piece Of Jewish History
view counter

Editorial & Opinion | Opinion

08/06/2013 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

Shortly before Secretary of State John Kerry announced resumption of peace negotiations, leaders of the Jewish Council for Public Affairs and the American Task Force for Palestine met jointly in Washington, D.C., with administration and congressional officials to express support for a two-state resolution of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and active U.S. involvement in bringing it about. We did this because our two organizations reject zero-sum politics in regard to the Israeli-Palestinian issue and believe successful negotiations must be rooted both in compromise and a win-win approach. This is the only realistic way forward, whether within the next nine months or the next nine years.

07/30/2013 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

That old adage is true: There’s nothing worse than losing a child. I discovered this a year ago when we laid our beautiful daughter Rachel to rest after a long illness. She was 28. Having lost parents and in-laws, I thought I understood everything about grief. I was wrong.

07/30/2013 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

In the aftermath of Ryan Braun’s suspension from Major League Baseball for the use of performance-enhancing drugs, social media networks have witnessed an outpouring of impassioned commentary, including many anti-Semitic remarks made against Braun — nicknamed “The Hebrew Hammer” for his Jewish heritage.

07/30/2013 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

The recent conferral of the title “maharat,” the equivalent of “rabbi,” to three Orthodox women has rekindled a long-standing debate within the Orthodox community about ordaining women.

07/29/2013 | | Opinion

Twenty years ago, Israel's Chief Rabbinate, which was founded by Rabbi Abraham Isaac Kook, the father of religious Zionism, was taken over by the ultra-Orthodox world view. This past week, with the election of two haredi Chief Rabbis, it emerged that ultra-Orthodox control of the Chief Rabbinate is going to continue for the next decade. This is a failure on three levels: political, religious, and cultural.

07/26/2013 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

I am a Holocaust survivor who sits on the board of directors of the Claims Conference. At the recent annual board meeting, we discussed this year’s negotiations with the German government, which led to, among other benefits, an agreement that will result in $1 billion for homecare for Holocaust victims from 2014 through 2017.