Editorial & Opinion | Opinion

09/11/2014 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

“A yarmulke is an indoor garment.”  Ask any male Ramaz graduate from the 1940’s through the mid-‘60’s and he will recognize that declaration as one with which we – and others of our age – grew up.  We didn’t wear kipot outside.  We wore hats or no head covering.  Essentially, we didn’t identify as Jews in the street, a street that was not entirely welcoming to us.  It was a time of overt or covert anti-Semitism and we were acculturated to be aware of it and respond accordingly.

09/09/2014 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

Powerful new evidence has surfaced mandating disqualification of Professor William Schabas as the chair of the UN commission investigating alleged Israeli war crimes during the recent Gaza conflict.

09/09/2014 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

Rumors of the demise of liberal Zionism are rampant, fanned most recently by Antony Lerman in last weekend’s New York Times (“The End of Liberal Zionism”).

09/05/2014 | | Special to The Jewish Week | Opinion

Joan Rivers was a – sometimes off-color – voice of outsiders and women, and a fierce defender of Israel.

09/04/2014 | | Web Director | Opinion

God is the main character in the central Jewish narrative ... but Jews rarely talk about God. Why? What's at stake in losing this conversation, this ability to discuss the divine? And how can we recapture God language across the Jewish spectrum?

09/02/2014 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

The statistical facts of Jewish intermarriage, those introduced a year ago by the Pew Research Center’s study of American Jews, are now well known. Among all recently married American Jews, a majority (58 percent) marry people of another religious background. Among the more liberal streams of American Judaism (that is, excluding Orthodox Jews) the same statistic is reportedly 72 percent. But what these dry numbers hide are the human stories behind Jewish intermarriage. These stories have been beautifully documented by Keren McGinity of Brandeis University in her recently-published book Marrying Out: Jewish Men, Intermarriage, and Fatherhood (Indiana University Press, Sept. 1, 2014).