Editorial & Opinion | Opinion

09/06/2011 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

 Women got the vote 91 years ago this month, but too many of us are still not exercising this most precious right. Single women, in particular, don’t vote in the same numbers as their married sisters, yet are in greater need of government policies and programs that will ensure them a brighter future. Indeed, in 2010, according to exit polling data, the “marriage gap” — the difference in voter participation and voter behavior between married women and unmarried women — was 30 points.

09/06/2011 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

To my surprise and dismay, after the first anniversary of Sept. 11, 2001, by and large the organized Jewish community’s reaction has been muted.

To be fair, there have been exceptions. On the fifth anniversary, The Jewish Week published a section on the subject, including my article “The Holiest Place on Earth,” about my daughters and me praying at Ground Zero on Yom Kippur. Revealingly however, when the article was excerpted, or quoted in other parts of the country, it was by either a secular or, more commonly, a Christian paper.

08/31/2011 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

 My 84-year-old father, Robert Kash, received a phone call from a woman who introduced herself as a cousin, with the same great grandfather. She said she was working on a Family Tree from a website called www.Jewishgen.org. About seven weeks ago she emailed me the Family Tree and shared the newfound cousins she contacted, including one from Israel.

08/30/2011 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

While the Obama administration is trying to ward off the Palestinians’ ill-conceived bid for unilateral recognition as an Arab state at the UN General Assembly, Palestinian Authority President Mahmoud Abbas is proving to be as obstructionist and hypocritical as his late predecessor, Yasir Arafat. “Don’t order us to recognize a Jewish state,” Abbas declared last week. “We won’t accept it.”

08/24/2011 | | Special To The Jewish Week Online | Opinion

Women got the vote 91 years ago this week, but too many of us are still not exercising this most precious right. Single women, in particular, don’t vote in the same numbers as their married sisters, yet are in greater need of government policies and programs that will ensure them a brighter future. Indeed, in 2010, the “marriage gap” -- the difference in voter participation and voter behavior between married women and unmarried women -- was 30 points.

08/23/2011 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

 In August 1991, race riots erupted in Crown Heights and an innocent Jewish student was murdered in response to the accidental killing of an African-American child. After the murder, the Rev. Al Sharpton came to the neighborhood and further whipped up an already incensed crowd, leaving some in the Jewish community to demand, 20 years later, that we forever shun Rev. Sharpton. My friend Rabbi Marc Schneier generated criticism for inviting him to the Hampton Synagogue to participate in a panel discussion.