Editorial & Opinion | Opinion

09/13/2011 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

When I first co-authored a book on “peoplehood,” I was hoping that it would precipitate conversations on what it means to be a people. I hoped we would talk about what constitutes Jewish identity in a modern age and what we can do to bring people together with diverse Jewish commitments. It was an ambitious goal but not an impossible one.

09/12/2011 | Opinion
  Julian Olidort     I’m a Russian Jew. I was born and raised in New York City. I am proud to be an American. But somehow, I am still a Russian Jew.    My family hasn’t been back to the former Soviet Union since they left in search of a better Jewish life, some 40 years ago. I’d never been there at all, until this summer.  
09/08/2011 | Opinion
Perry Davis Western media paid little attention to the 100 rockets fired into Israel from Gaza over a four-day period in late August, when 500,000 people were repeatedly forced to take shelter.  However, my family and I experienced the attacks first-hand, felt the terror and came away with a searing memory and a clear sense of what has become commonplace to so many. 
09/06/2011 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

 Women got the vote 91 years ago this month, but too many of us are still not exercising this most precious right. Single women, in particular, don’t vote in the same numbers as their married sisters, yet are in greater need of government policies and programs that will ensure them a brighter future. Indeed, in 2010, according to exit polling data, the “marriage gap” — the difference in voter participation and voter behavior between married women and unmarried women — was 30 points.

09/06/2011 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

To my surprise and dismay, after the first anniversary of Sept. 11, 2001, by and large the organized Jewish community’s reaction has been muted.

To be fair, there have been exceptions. On the fifth anniversary, The Jewish Week published a section on the subject, including my article “The Holiest Place on Earth,” about my daughters and me praying at Ground Zero on Yom Kippur. Revealingly however, when the article was excerpted, or quoted in other parts of the country, it was by either a secular or, more commonly, a Christian paper.