Editorial & Opinion | Opinion

04/21/2015 | | Opinion

“Va-yidom Aharon” – “And Aharon was silent” (Vayikra 10:3).  While these words, read this past Shabbat, describe the biblical Aharon’s reaction to the death of his two sons and remains the consummate response to the mystery of death and tragedy, they take on an additional and somber meaning in mourning the passing of Rav Aharon Lichtenstein, zecher tzaddik li’vracha (may the memory of the righteous be a blessing).

04/15/2015 | | Opinion

"Peace will come from hard choices and compromises that must be made at the negotiating table."

04/15/2015 | | Opinion

As a child of Holocaust survivors, I experienced two dramatically different end-of-life scenarios with my parents.  My father’s passing was extremely painful physically, emotionally and spiritually, and while he died 34 years ago, the memories and irreconcilable conditions around his death linger.  That was before hospice was readily available in the U.S.

04/14/2015 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

Seventy years after the liberation of the Nazi death and concentration camps during the final weeks and months of World War II, we are at a transitional moment. For the past seven decades, the survivors of the Shoah kept the memory of what had been done to them, and to their families and to European Jewry, at the forefront of their society’s consciousness. Sadly but inevitably, they are now fading from the scene. The critical question, therefore, is how their absence will change the nature of Holocaust remembrance.

04/14/2015 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

As the world’s largest kosher food certification agency, we at the Orthodox Union know a few things about inspection programs. Our “OU” logo is on nearly one million food products made in more than 90 countries, and some age-old Jewish rules about kosher supervision are relevant to the current debate over the proposed Iran nuclear deal.

04/14/2015 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

On Oct. 2, 2002, President George W. Bush asked and received authorization from Congress to go to war with Iraq. Just one month before, Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu addressed the Congress saying, “If you take out Saddam, Saddam’s regime, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations in the region.” Nothing could have been further from the truth.