A new members-only whiskey community, Single Cask Nation, is trending with the Jewish community.
Food & Wine Editor
Story Includes Video:
In 2010 Joshua Hatton attended New York’s Whiskyfest and noticed that in a crowd of about 3,500 people, over a third of them were Jewish. In that moment, he came up with the idea of catering to Jewish whiskey enthusiasts.
“There’s more kippot than there are kilts at these events,” Hatton said. “It seemed like the smart thing to do.”
The result of that brainstorm: the Jewish Whisky Company, an independent bottling company that adheres to the laws of kashrut, and Single Cask Nation, its members-only club. The company is just about to deliver its second release of high-quality single cask whiskies to its members.
The verdict is in, and rabbis are calling quinoa unkosher for Passover.
On any given day, a wind might blow through the farmlands of South America, pick up an errant grain of barley and deposit it nearby among the vast rows of cultivated quinoa. If that barley manages to make its way into a sifted batch of quinoa and avoid detection during repackaging, it could wind up gracing your seder table on Passover night.
Q - I recently heard reports about the creation of artificial meat, using with animal stem cells. To this point, it exists only in a Petri dish, but it's time to start asking the tough questions. As one who keeps kosher and who is a vegetarian, would this kind of meat would be kosher - and would that be true even for pork? And since no killing would be involved, could a vegetarian eat this meat with a clear conscience?
A- As they say at Citi Field, it’s time to “Meet the Meats.”
Q - I've heard that pets are supposed to keep Passover. I'm fairly traditional regarding Passover and just got a dog. Isn't it cruel to force an innocent animal to change its entire diet for a whole week? It's hard enough for humans!
A- As the proud owner of two adorable standard poodles, one of whom is extremely neurotic, I can sympathize with you.